Section Officers (Jan 1, 2015 – Dec 31, 2016)

David G. Sibeck, President

Research Scientist at NASA/GSFC. Longstanding interest in the physics of the Earth’s dayside solar wind-magnetosphere-ionosphere interaction. More recently studying Pc pulsations in the Earth’s magnetosphere and developing a soft x-ray imager for the magnetosheath and cusps. B. A. Meteorology (UCLA, 1979), M. S. Atmospheric Sciences (UCLA, “An Explanation of Multiple Boundary Crossings near the Magnetotail Magnetopause”, 1982), PhD Atmospheric Sciences (UCLA, “Structure of the Distant Geotail: ISEE-3 Observations”, 1984). Principal Professional Staff at JHU/APL (1985-2002), at NASA/GSFC (2002-present), detailed to NASA/HQ (2003-2005). THEMIS Project Scientist (2003-present), LWS Geospace Mission Scientist (2004-present). Faculty of Mathematics and Physics Award, Charles University, Prague (2003). NASA/GSFC Exceptional Achievement Award for Science 2009, NASA-wide Exceptional Scientific Achievement Award 2010. AGU member since 1981. MacElwane Award 1992, Member Flinn Committee 1996-1997, Associate Editor GRL 2004-2007, SPA representative EOS Editorial Advisory Board 2005-2010. More than 70 peer-reviewed first-authored publications in total of 245.

James A. Klimchuk, Past President

James Klimchuk is a research astrophysicist in the Heliophysics Division at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center. He specializes in studying the solar corona—the multi-million degree outer atmosphere of the Sun that is the primary source of “space weather” that can wreck havoc with technological systems here at Earth.

Dr. Klimchuk has held numerous elected and appointed leadership positions, including (current) President of AGU’s Space Physics and Aeronomy Section, Chair of the Solar Physics Division of the American Astronomical Society, President of Commission 10 and Vice-President of Division II of the International Astronomical Union. He currently chairs the committee that advises NASA on solar and heliospheric physics. He has served in various capacities on many other committees, boards, panels, and working groups.
Dr. Klimchuk is an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Astronomical Society and recipient of NASA’s Lindsay Memorial Award for Space Science and Outstanding Leadership Medal. He received a BA in physics from Kalamazoo College and a PhD in astrophysics from the University of Colorado in 1985. He worked at Stanford University and the Naval Research Laboratory before joining NASA. His ~160 publications (~110 refereed) have been cited more than 4700 times (H-index 38). A full bio can be found at http://science.gsfc.nasa.gov

NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Solar Physics Lab., Code 671 Bldg. 21, Rm. 158 Greenbelt, MD 20771 Phone: +1 301 286 9060 Email: james.a.klimchuk@nasa.gov

Robyn Millan, Secretary Magnetospheric Physics

Current primary interest is radiation belt dynamics studied through the use of balloon-based, spacecraft, and ground-based observations. B. A. degrees in Physics, Astronomy, University of California at Berkeley, 1995. Ph. D. in Physics, University of California, Berkeley, 2002. NASA Space Grant Visiting Young Scientist, Dartmouth College, 2002-2003. Research Assistant Professor, Dartmouth College, 2003-2005; Assistant Professor, Dartmouth College, 2005-2011. Current position is Associate Professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, Dartmouth College. AGU member since 1997. 2008 Editor’s Citation for Excellence in Refereeing for JGR Space Physics.


Anja Stromme, Secretary Aeronomy

Anja Stromme

AGU member since 2005. Senior scientist, Sondrestrom Upper Atmosphere Facility, Menlo Park, Calif. Volunteer experience includes convening and co- convening session at Coupling, Energetics and Dynamics of Atmospheric Regions (CEDAR), European Incoherent Scatter Scientific Association (EISCAT) Workshop, International Union of Radio Science (URSI) general assembly and other national and international meetings; interacting with and mentoring students using data from the Sondrestrom facility, resulting in a total of 38 Ph.D. theses the last 5 years; organizing and convening two international workshops resulting in a science rationale document for an Incoherent Scatter Radar in Antarctica.

Larry J. Paxton, President-Elect

Larry J. Paxton is the Head of the Geospace and Earth Science Group at the Applied Physics Laboratory of the Johns Hopkins University. Larry is interested in developing new techniques and opportunities for the use of outer space to further our understanding of the Sun-Earth system, its relationship to human activities and needs, and to support our outward journey.

Larry has been an AGU convener for over 30 sessions in addition to service on various national and international committees, NASA panels, NASA working groups and NRC/NAS panels including the “Heliophysics Decadal Survey” and the NASA Heliophysics Roadmap. Larry has also been actively involved in the International Academy of Astronautics having Chaired Commission 4 on Space Operations and Utilization. Larry has worked to provide others the opportunity to publish and promote our ideas and advance science and welcomes opportunities to collaborate. He has collaborated with over 100 scientists in the community with more than 240 papers. According to Google Scholar, his work has been cited over 3000 times with an h-index of 28; and i10 (papers cited 10 times or more) index of 61.

He received his Ph.D. from the University of Colorado in Astrophysical, Planetary and Atmospheric Sciences. His B.S. in Physics is from the University of Santa Clara.

Todd J. Hoeksema, Secretary, Solar-Heliospheric Physics

J. Todd Hoeksema is a senior research scientist in the W.W. Hansen Experimental Physics Laboratory at Stanford University. His professional experience includes the design, construction, and operation of instruments to measure solar magnetic and velocity fields from both ground and space, as well as research administration.

Dr. Hoeksema’s primary scientific interests include the physics of the Sun and the interplanetary medium, solar-terrestrial relations, large-scale solar and coronal magnetic fields, helioseismology, and education and public outreach. He has published more than 140 research papers.

He is currently magnetic team lead for the Helioseismic and Magnetic Imager on NASA’s Solar Dynamics Observatory. He has been associated with the Wilcox Solar Observatory at Stanford for more than three sunspot cycles, currently as its director. From 2000-4 he served as a discipline scientist at NASA HQ.

Dr. Hoeksema currently co-chairs the Committee on Solar and Space Physics and has served as chair of the Solar Physics Division of the American Astronomical Society, AURA’s Solar Observatory Council, and the 2005 Heliophysics Roadmap Team. He has been involved with decadal surveys both for Solar and Space Physics and for Astronomy. He was awarded the NASA Distinguished Public Service medal in 2006. He earned his B.A. from Calvin College and a Ph.D. in Applied Physics from Stanford University.

N452 Lomita Mall / HEPL – Cypress C-13 / Stanford, CA 94305-4085. Phone: +1 650 723 1506. E-mail: jthoeksema@solar.stanford.edu

Jan Josef Sojka, Past President

Jan Josef Sojka joined the American Geophysical Union in 1979. He is currently head of the Department of Physics and the assistant director of the Center for Atmospheric and Space Sciences at Utah State University in Logan. His areas of scientific interest include global-scale modeling of the ionosphere, magnetosphere-ionosphere coupling, solar-terrestrial weather forecasting, data compression, and small satellite technology.

Utah State University, Ctr Atmospheric & Space Sci, 4405 Old Main Hill, Logan, Utah 84322-4405, Phone: +1 435 797 2964 Email: afasojka@sojka.cass.usu.edu